Emma Fields

Emma Fields

ADROP Immediate Past President

Virginia Commonwealth University Health Sciences


  • MD, Medicine, Medical University of South Carolina, Charleston, SC, 2008
  • BS, Psychology, University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill, NC, 2002

Postgraduate Education

  • Transitional Year,  Medical University of South Carolina,  Charleston, 2009
  • Residency, University of Colorado, Denver, 2013

Academic Appointments

  • Associate Professor and Residency Program Director of Radiation Oncology - Virginia Commonwealth University Health Sciences - Present

Dr. Fields is an Associate Professor and Residency Program Director of Radiation Oncology at Virginia Commonwealth University in Richmond, Virginia. She specializes in the treatment of gastrointestinal and gynecologic malignancies. Her research interests are varied and include work on quality of life and sexual function after pelvic radiation, short course radiation for rectal cancers, brachytherapy as part of dose escalation for pancreatic cancers, among others.

In addition to clinical research and patient care she is very involved in the education of radiation oncology residents. She created a proficiency-based cervical cancer brachytherapy simulation course which has now been delivered as a multi-institutional curriculum around the country. Based on this work, she has been selected to collaborate with Dr. Dan Petereit, current president of the American Brachytherapy Society (ABS), to work on the 300 in 10 initiative with a goal of improving the brachytherapy training nationally. Dr. Fields is also a leader in the Radiation Oncology Education Collaborative Study Group (ROECSG) and has worked with Dr. Rachel Jimenez at MGH to develop a curriculum for incoming PGY-2 residents called IROC (Introductory Radiation Oncology Curriculum) which was implemented at 55 programs nationally with over 200 residents participating in 2018 and 2019.

Dr. Fields serves on the Education Committee for the American Society for Radiation Oncology (ASTRO), the Education Committee for ABS and the Cervix Committee for NRG.