Patient Care and Research

Section Menu  


2024 Safety Star Nominations

An underpinning goal of the RO-ILS: Radiation Oncology Incident Learning System® program is to support and encourage a strong culture of safety. A culture of safety encourages staff to speak up, prioritize patient safety and engage in initiatives that benefit quality such as incident learning and accreditation.

Each year RO-ILS will recognize a select number of radiation oncology team members for their contributions to patient safety.

2023 Safety Stars

Alyx Alfson, MS, CMD, RT(T) 
University of Wisconsin
Itai Pashtan, MD
Dana-Farber Brigham Cancer Center
Danica Bolton, RTT 
Beth Israel Lahey Health at Exeter Hospital
Jason Pukala, PhD 
Orlando Health Cancer Institute
Stacey Grubb, RT(T) 
Compass Oncology
Scott Simmons, CMD, RT(R)(T)
John Hedge, MD 
Terence Sio, MD, MS 
Mayo Clinic Arizona
Timothy Hahn, RTT
Sutter Medical Foundation
Patricia Sponseller, MS, CMD, RTT (R)(T)
University of Washington
Ryan Manger, PhD
University of California San Diego
Cassandra Stambaugh, PhD 
Tufts Medical Center

To nominate a RO-ILS user for 2024, please fill out the following form and in the comment section provide an explanation of how the nominee exemplifies safety culture principles and their work/ accomplishments in patient safety. Please include specific example(s) of how the individual goes above and beyond for patient safety.




Copyright © 2024 American Society for Radiation Oncology