Cancer is a leading cause of death worldwide. According to the International Agency for Research on Cancer (IARC) cancer deaths worldwide are projected to continue to rise to more than 16.3 million in 2040. The American Cancer Society estimated that in 2022 there will be an estimated 1.9 million new cases of cancer diagnosed in the United States. Conservative estimates show that nearly 50% of all cancer patients will receive radiation treatment for their disease and of those, approximately half will be treated with the intent to cure.

The American Society for Radiation Oncology (ASTRO) is committed to providing educational programming that creates a forum for collaboration on the complex, current and comprehensive issues in radiation oncology. This five-day live meeting is designed to improve professional practice by increasing attendees' level of knowledge as required to improve competency and performance in the field of oncology care and research. The meeting will also address patient-centered strategies to drive advancements in clinical trials, patient engagement, shared decision making and comprehensive care for patients with cancer.

Attendees need to determine when and how the latest science will affect their day-to-day practice, and thus be able to narrow competency gaps across the various disease sites most commonly treated in radiation oncology. Attendees also need to determine the skills needed to properly treat patients with high-quality radiation therapy and improve their performance.

Some new applications of radiation therapy have not been found to improve outcomes for patients in clinical trials, and this may be in part due to challenges in implementation of high-quality advanced radiation techniques in the community, e.g., pancreatic SBRT in the neoadjuvant setting (ref- M Katz ALLIANCE trial GI ASCO 1/17/2021). More education about such advanced techniques is needed to raise the bar and set standards for how to best use radiation oncology advances technologies to benefit patients.

Thank you to the Annual Meeting Planning committee members for your contributions to the success of the meeting!

Annual Meeting Steering Committee

Jeff Michalski, MD, MBA, FASTRO (President)
Howard Sandler, MD, MS, FASTRO (President-elect)
Beth Erickson, MD, FASTRO (Education Council Chair)
Andrea Ng, MD, MPH, FASTRO (Chair, Scientific Committee)
Kenneth Rosenzweig, MD, FASTRO (Vice-chair, Scientific Committee)
Thomas Dilling, MD (Chair, Education Committee)
Beth Beadle, MD, PhD (Vice-chair, Education Committee)
Nicole Simone, MD (Chair, Science Education and Program Development Subcommittee)
Suzanne Evans, MD (Chair, Best of ASTRO)
Rachel Jimenez, MD (Education, Leadership Pipeline Protégé)
Iris Gibbs, MD, FASTRO (Chair, Committee for Health Equity, Diversity and Inclusion)

Annual Meeting Education Committee

Thomas Dilling, MD (Chair)
Beth Beadle, MD, PhD (Vice-chair)

Kamran Ahmed, MD
Safia Ahmed, MD
Kevin Alburquerque, MD
Arya Amini, MD
Carryn Anderson, MD
Sanjay Aneja, MD
Anthony Apicelli, MD, PhD
James Bates, MD
Brian Baumann, MD
Nathan Bennion, MD
Thomas Boike, MD, MMM
Steve Braunstein, MD, PhD
Hignia Rosa Cardenes, MD, PhD
David Carlson, PhD
Laura Cervino, PhD
Christina Chapman, MD, MS
Yen-Lin Evelyn Chen, MD
Fumiko Chino, MD
Christine Chung, MD
Eileen Connolly, MD, PhD
Kiri Cook, MD
Kelsey Corrigan, MD, MPH, FASTRO
Megan Daly, MD
Kristopher Dennis, MD, PhD
Kavita Dharmarajan, MD, MS
Virginia Diavolitsis, MD
Kevin Du, MD, PhD, MS
Alysa Fairchild, MD
Michael Gensheimer, MD
Naamit Gerber, MD
Beant Gill, MD
Scott Glaser, MD
Vinai Gondi, MD
Craig Grossman, MD, PhD, MS
Charles Hsu, MD, PhD
Zain Husain, MD
Daniel Indelicato, MD
Jerry Jaboin, MD, PhD, MBA
Sachin Jhawar, MD, MS
Rachel Jimenez, MD
Peter Johnstone, MD, FASTRO
Sana Karam, MD, PhD
Rojano Kashani, PhD
Michelle Kim, MD
Edward Kim, MD
Nicole Larrier, MD, MS
Percy Lee, MD
Heng Li, PhD
Lilie Lin, MD
Alexander Louie, MD, PhD, MSc, FRCPC
John Lukens, MD
Danielle Margalit, MD, MPH
Malcolm Mattes, MD
Matthew McCurdy, MD, PhD
Mahta McKee, MS
Timur Mitin, MD, PhD
Najeeb Mohideen, MD, FASTRO
Shalini Moningi, MD
Michael Moravan, MD, PhD
Erin Murphy, MD
Bailey Nelson, MD
Quynh-Nhu Nguyen, MD
Chirayu Patel, MD, MPH
Bradford Perez, MD
Subha Perni, MD
Christopher Hays Pope, MD
Richard Popple, PhD
Kristin Redmond, MD, MPH
Lei Ren, PhD
Ramesh Rengan, MD, PhD, FASTRO
Danielle Rodin, MD
Hina Saeed, MD
Daniel Schiffner, MD
Jonathan Schoenfeld, MD
Arshin Sheybani, MD
Malika Siker, MD
Scott Silva, MD, PhD
Heath Skinner, MD, PhD
Scott Soltys, MD
Vinita Takiar, MD, PhD
Rahul Tendulkar, MD
Mylin Torres, MD
C Jillian Tsai, MD, PhD, MS
Derek Tsang, MD, MS
Alfredo Urdaneta, MD
Michael Velec, PhD, RT
Tony Wang, MD
Stephanie Weiss, MD, FASTRO
Meng Welliver, MD, PhD
William Woods, MSN, BSN, RN, NP-C
Jean Wright, MD
Gary Yang, MD
Joanna Yang, MD, MPH
Anamaria Yeung, MD
Youssef Zeidan, MD, PhD
Jing Zeng, MD

Annual Meeting Scientific Committee

Andrea Ng, MD, MPH, FASTRO (Chair)
Ken Rosenzweig, MD, FACR, FASTRO (Vice-chair)

Richard Bakst, MD
Leslie Ballas, MD
James Balter, PhD, FASTRO
Rachel Blitzblau, MD, PhD
Daniel Chang, MD, FASTRO
Christina Chapman, MD, MS
Peter Chung, MB, ChB, FRCPC
Kristopher Dennis, MD, PhD
Thomas Galloway, MD
Inga Grills, MD
B. Ashleigh Guadagnolo, MD, MPH, FASTRO
Jillian Gunther, MD, PhD
Matthew Harkenrider, MD
Jona Hattangadi-Gluth, MD
Susan Hiniker, MD
Kathryn Huber, MD, PhD
Sana Karam, MD, PhD
Matthew Katz, MD, FASTRO
Michael LeCompte, MD, MS
Jing Li, MD, PhD
John Thomas Lucas, MD, MS
Danielle Margalit, MD, MPH
Jyoti Mayadev, MD
Charles Mayo, PhD, FAAPM, FASTRO
Mark Mishra, MD
Jean Moran, PhD
John Plastaras, MD, PhD
Rinaa Punglia, MD, MPH, FASTRO
Clifford Robinson, MD
Hina Saeed, MD
Kilian Salerno, MD
Naomi Schechter, MD
Jennifer Schmid, MSN, BSN, RN, NP-C
Farzan Siddiqui, MD, PhD
Malika Siker, MD
Charles Simone, MD
Gita Suneja, MD, MS
Rahul Tendulkar, MD
Yolanda Tseng, MD
Gabriel Vidal, MD
Terence Williams, MD, PhD
Jennifer Wo, MD
William Woods, MSN, BSN, RN, NP-C
Wensha Yang, PhD

Format and Objectives

ASTRO's Annual Meeting will be held live in San Diego. Learn more about the meeting format and objectives.

American Society for Radiation Oncology
251 18th Street South, 8th Floor
Arlington, VA 22202
Telephone: 703-502-1550


Connect With Us: