Cancer is a leading cause of death worldwide. According to the International Agency for Research on Cancer (IARC) cancer deaths worldwide are projected to continue to rise to more than 16.3 million in 2040. The American Cancer Society estimated that in 2022 there will be an estimated 1.9 million new cases of cancer diagnosed in the United States. Conservative estimates show that nearly fifty percent of all cancer patients will receive radiation treatment for their disease and of those, approximately half will be treated with the intent to cure. Advances in the applications, technologies and methodologies of radiation oncology continue to evolve rapidly and the delivery of radiation therapy has become more complex, making it imperative that the radiation oncology professional remain current in the state-of-the-art techniques. The American Society for Radiation Oncology is committed to providing educational programming that creates a forum for collaboration on issues in radiation oncology. This 5-day live meeting is designed to improve professional practice by increasing their level of knowledge as required to improve competency and performance in the field of oncology. It will also start to address how advances in digital health care should be best used post pandemic to improve patient care. Attendees need to determine when and how the latest science will affect their day-to-day practice, and thus be able to narrow competency gaps across the various disease sites most commonly treated in radiation oncology. Attendees also need to determine the skills needed to properly treat patients with high quality radiation therapy and improve their performance. Some new applications of radiation therapy have not been found to improve outcomes for patients in clinical trials, and this may be in part due to challenges in implementation of high-quality advanced radiation techniques in the community, e.g., pancreatic SBRT in the neoadjuvant setting (ref- M Katz ALLIANCE trial GI ASCO 1/17/2021). More education about such advanced techniques is needed to raise the bar and set standards for how to best use radiation oncology advances technologies to benefit patients.

Thank you to the Annual Meeting Planning committee members for your contributions to the success of the meeting!

Annual Meeting Steering Committee
Geraldine Jacobson, MD, MBA, MPH, FASTRO (President)
Jeff Michalski, MD, MBA, FASTRO (President-elect)
Benjamin Movsas, MD, FASTRO (Education Council Chair)
Andrea Ng, MD, MPH, FASTRO (Chair, Scientific Committee)
Felix Feng, MD (Vice-chair, Scientific Committee)
Thomas Dilling, MD (Chair, Education Committee)
Beth Beadle, MD, PhD (Vice-chair, Education Committee)
David Carlson, MD, PhD (Chair, Science Education and Program Development Subcommittee)
Suzanne Evans, MD (Chair, Best of ASTRO)
Annual Meeting Education Committee

Thomas Dilling, MD (Chair)
Beth Beadle, MD, PhD (Vice-chair)

Kamran Ahmed, MD
Kevin Albuquerque, MD
Arya Amini, MD
Carryn Anderson, MD
Sanjay Aneja, MD
Anthony Apicelli, MD, PhD
Brian Baumann, MD
Manpreet Bedi, MD
Carmen Bergom, MD, PhD
Mark Bernard, MD
Aashish Bhatt, MD
Thomas Boike, MD, MMM
Steve Braunstein, MD, PhD
David Carlson, PhD
Laura Cervino, PhD
Christina Chapman, MD, MS
Aileen Chen, MD
Ronald Chen, MD, MPH, FASTRO
Yen-Lin Evelyn Chen, MD
Fumiko Chino, MD
Christine Chung, MD
Eileen Connolly, MD, PhD
Kiri Cook, MD
Megan Daly, MD
Kristopher Dennis, MD, PhD
Virginia Diavolitsis, MD
Dayssy Diaz Pardo, MD, MS
Sarah Dooley, MD
Kevin Du, MD, PhD, MS
Cindy Faigin, MS, OCN, RN
Alysa Fairchild, MD
Michael Gensheimer, MD
Naamit Gerber, MD
Vinai Gondi, MD
Charles Hsu, MD, PhD
Zain Husain, MD
Sachin Jhawar, MD, MS
Rachel Jimenez, MD
Peter Johnstone, MD, FASTRO
Sana Karam, MD, PhD
Rojano Kashani, PhD
Aparna Kesarwala, MD, PhD
Atif Khan, MD, MS
Edward Kim, MD
Michelle Kim, MD
Sunil Krishnan, MD, FASTRO
Nicole Larrier, MD, MS
Percy Lee, MD
Heng Li, PhD
Lilie Lin, MD
John Lukens, MD
Danielle Margalit, MD, MPH
Malcolm Mattes, MD
Matthew McCurdy, MD, PhD
Mahta McKee, MS
Eric Mellon, MD, PhD
Timur Mitin, PD, PhD
Najeeb Mohideen, MD, FASTRO
Michael Moravan, MD, PhD
Erin Murphy, MD
Bailey Nelson, MD
Quynh-Nhu Nguyen, MD
Chirayu Patel, MD, MPH
Bradford Perez, MD
Christopher Hays Pope, MD
Richard Popple, PhD
Rachel Abrams Rabinovitch, MD, FASTRO
Kristin Redmond, MD, MPH
Lei Ren, PhD
Ramesh Rengan, MD, PhD, FASTRO
Danielle Rodin, MD
Hina Saeed, MD
Tracey Schefter, MD
Daniel Schiffner, MD
Jonathan Schoenfeld, MD
Andrew Sharabi, MD, PhD
Arshin Sheybani, MD
Malika Siker, MD
Scott Silva, MD, PhD
Heath Skinner, MD, PhD
Scott Soltys, MD
Vinita Takiar, MD, PhD
Rahul Tendulkar, MD
Mylin Torres, MD
C. Jillian Tsai, MD, PhD, MS
Derek Tsang, MD, MS
Alfredo Urdaneta, MD
John Austin Vargo, MD
Michael Velec, PhD, RT
Tony Wang, MD
Stephanie Weiss, MD, FASTRO
Meng Welliver, MD, PhD
William Woods, MSN, BSN, RN, NP-C
Jean Wright, MD
Gary Yang, MD
Joanna Yang, MD, MPH
Raphael Yechieli, MD
Hsiang-Hsuan Yu, MD, MS
Youssef Zeidan, MD, PhD
Jing Zeng, MD

Annual Meeting Scientific Committee

Andrea Ng, MD, MPH (Chair)
Felix Feng, MD (Vice-chair)

Richard Bakst, MD
Leslie Ballas, MD
James Balter, PhD, FASTRO
Rachel Blitzblau, MD, PhD
Daniel Chang, MD
Christina Chapman, MD, MS
Peter Chung, MB, ChB, FRCPC
Eric Ford, PhD
Idalid Franco, MD
Thomas Galloway, MD, MPH
Inga Grills, MD
B. Ashleigh Gudagnolo, MD
Matthew Harkenrider, MD, MPH, FASTRO
Jona Hattangadi-Gluth, MD
Joshua Jones, MD
Matthew Katz, MD
Randall Kimple, MD, FASTRO
Sunil Krishnan, MD, PhD
John Lucas, MD, FASTRO
Danielle Margalit, MD, MS
Jyoti Mayadev, MD, MPH
Charles Mayo, MD
Mark Mishra, PhD, FAAPM
Gerard Morton, MD
Stephanie Perkins, MD, MPH, FASTRO
Chelsea Pinnix, MD
John Plastaras, MD, PhD
Rinaa Punglia, MD, MPH
Hina Saeed, MD, MPH, FASTRO
Kilian Salerno, MD
Naomi Schechter, MD
Helen Shih, MSN, BS, RN, EMT-P
Farzan Siddiqui, MD, MS, MPH, FASTRO
Malika Siker, MD, PhD
Austin Sim, MD, JD
Charles Simone, MD
Gita Suneja, MD, MS
Rahul Tendulkar, MD
Yolanda Tseng, MD
Terence Williams, MD, PhD
Julia Wong, MD, FASTRO
William Woods, MSN, BSN, RN, NP-C
Wensha Yang, PhD

Line space

Format and Objectives ASTRO's Annual Meeting will be held live in San Antonio. Learn more about the meeting format and objectives.

American Society for Radiation Oncology
251 18th Street South, 8th Floor
Arlington, VA 22202
Telephone: 703-502-1550


Connect With Us: