Abstract Awards

Each year, ASTRO awards up to 45 investigators who submitted an abstract to the Annual Meeting with an achievement award. Winners are chosen by the Annual Meeting Steering Committee based on the abstracts' peer-reviewed scores.

The application process occurs during the abstract submission process. Each year, ASTRO publishes the award criteria, so if you are interested in being considered in future years, please consult the guidelines before submission. The 2022 guidelines can be found here.

Congratulations to the 2022 Annual Meeting Abstract Award winners!

Steven A. Leibel Memorial Award

In partnership with ASTRO and the ABR Foundation we have created the Leibel Memorial Award. This award is given to two Principal Investigators, who must be an ABR board-certified, or board-eligible individual who has completed training in radiation oncology or medical physics no more than 10 years prior. This year the award will be presented to two winners.

Learn more about Steven Leibel, MD, the Ann and John Doerr Medical Director of the Stanford Cancer Center, who died February 7, 2008, while vacationing in Hawaii.

Erin Gillespie, MD - Memorial Sloan Kettering Cancer Center
Chelsea Pinnix, MD, PhD - The University of Texas MD Anderson Cancer Center

International Abstract Award

Pallavi Kalbande, MD, MBBS - Mahatma Gandhi Institute of Medical Sciences, Sevagram

Resident Clinical/Basic Science Research Award

Kathryn Tringale, MD, MS - Memorial Sloan Kettering Cancer Center (Clinical)
Jared Hara, MD -  University of Chicago Medical Center (Biology)
Samuel Zhang, MD - Cedars-Sinai Medical Center (Physics)

Basic/Translational Science Award

David Routman, MD - Mayo Clinic (Junior Investigator, Clinical)
Benjamin Kann, MD - Brigham and Women’s Hospital/Dana-Farber Cancer Institute, Harvard Medical School (Junior Investigator, Clinical)
Mahbubur Rahman, PhD - Thayer School of Engineering, Dartmouth College (Junior Investigator, Physics)
Matthew Deek, MD - Johns Hopkins Medicine (Junior Investigator, Biology)
Jie Deng, MD, PhD - University of California (Junior Investigator, Biology)

Christian Guthier, PhD, MS - Artificial Intelligence in Medicine Program at Harvard (Senior Investigator, Clinical)
Yunze Yang, PhD - Mayo Clinic Arizona (Senior Investigator, Clinical)
Yuting Lin, PhD - University of Kansas Medical Center (Senior Investigator, Physics)
Ergys Subashi, PhD - Memorial Sloan Kettering Cancer Center (Senior Investigator, Physics)
Heather Conti, PhD - University of Toledo (Senior Investigator, Biology)

Nurse Abstract Award

Charles Huang, BS, MS - Stanford University

Travel Award

Justin Barnes, MD, MS - Washington University School of Medicine in St. Louis (Clinical)
Brian De, MD - University of Texas MD Anderson Cancer Center (Clinical)
Soumyajit Roy, MBBS - Rush University Medical Center (Clinical)
Omran Saifi, MD - Mayo Clinic (Clinical)
Kevin Tyan, BA - Harvard Medical School (Clinical)

Julianna Bronk, MD, PhD - The University of Texas MD Anderson Cancer Center (Biology)
Joseph Lombardo, DO - Sidney Kimmel Medical College & Cancer Center at Thomas Jefferson University (Biology)
Devin Miles, PhD - Johns Hopkins University School of Medicine(Biology)
N. Ari Wijetunga, MD, PhD, MS - Memorial Sloan Kettering Cancer Center (Biology)
Eric Zhao, MD, PhD - University of Toronto (Biology)

Xiaojian Chen, PhD - Medical College of Wisconsin (Physics)
Kaylie Cullison, BS - University of Miami Miller School of Medicine (Physics)
Hassan Jassar, PhD - Medical College of Wisconsin (Physics)
Xinyi Li, MS - Duke University Medical Center (Physics)
Hua-Chieh Shao, PhD - UT Southwestern Medical Center (Physics)

Resident Recognition Award - Quick Pitch

Anupam Rishi, MD - Moffitt Cancer Center (Clinical)
John Nikitas, MD - University of California (Physics)
Oscar Padilla, MD - Columbia University Irving Medical Center (Biology)

Resident Recognition Award - Poster Viewing

Aaron Bush, MD - Mayo Clinic (Clinical)
Anneke de Haan, MSc - University of Groningen (Clinical)
Hiroaki Ogawa, MD - Tokyo Metropolitan Cancer and Infectious Diseases Center Komagome Hospital (Clinical)

Jun-yan Li, MD - Sun Yat-sen University Cancer Center (Biology)
Curtis Clark, MD, PhD - UAB Hazelrig Salter Radiation Oncology Center (Biologyl)
Scarlett Acklin, MD - Duke University (Biology)

Hyunsoo No, MD, CMD - Stanford University School of Medicine (Physics)
Haley Perlow, MD - The Ohio State University Wexner Medical Center (Physics)
Hima Musunuru, MD, FRCR (UK) - UPMC Hillman Cancer Center (Physics)

American Society for Radiation Oncology
251 18th Street South, 8th Floor
Arlington, VA 22202
Telephone: 703-502-1550


Connect With Us: